Bauhausjubiläen 2016 & 2019

Bauhaus Centenary 2019

In 2019 Germany and partners from all over the world will celebrate the centenary of the Bauhaus. To this day, the Bauhaus in its international focus remains one of the most effective and successful ‘export articles’ of the twentieth-century. Founded in 1919 in Weimar, the Bauhaus moved to Dessau in 1925 and was finally closed down in 1933 in Berlin under pressure from the Nazi government. Yet, it left its mark not only in these three locations in Thuringia, Saxony-Anhalt and Berlin but throughout all of Germany, including, for example, Weißenhofsiedlung in Stuttgart, the Trade Union School in Bernau or the Fagus works in Alfeld. Dessau, where countless original modernist buildings and places of activity survive and where one of the most important Bauhaus collections is located, will be one of the most important sites of the celebrations, beginning with the 2016 “Triennial of Modernism” and carrying over into the centenary celebrations of 2019.


More information about the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation:

Joint website for the Bauhaus institutions in Berlin, Dessau and Weimar: